Four feted with Bidyapati Prize

Janakpur, 10 July : The Bidyapati Prize Fund has honoured five literary figures for their outstanding contribution to development of the Maithili language.

The fund prized five personalities in five different genres for their contribution to the Maithili language and culture through the means of writing, translation, publications and others.

Nepal Bidyapati Maithili Prize, 2074 was presented to Roshan Janakpuri of Dhanusha. The prize carries a purse of Rs 200,000.

Likewise, Himanshu Chaudhary got the prize of Rs 100,000 in cash under Pandulipi genre.

Similarly, Devendra Mishra of Saptari in translation, Dr Devnarayan Yadav of Sarlahi in research and Ramsagar Pandit under arts and culture were prized.

Deputy Prime Minister Ishwar Pokharel gave away the prize to those honoured.

The Fund was established in 2068 BS with a revolving fund of Rs 10 million to honour the literary figures every year for their contribution to the development of Maithili language, culture, arts and literature.

During the event, Deputy Prime Minister Pokharel said that Nepal's relations with India and China was unparalleled and nothing can break such relations.

On the occasion, Pokharel urged for social good will and harmony in the area adding that it was quite good in the past.

He also urged the stakeholders in the Province No. 2 not to languish in the dispute of language adding that all the languages spoken in Nepal belong to Nepal.

On the occasion, Minister for Physical Planning and Transport Raghubir Mahaseth said that the official language of the Province No. 2 should be Maithili as the majority of people in the region speak Maithili.

Contact Us

Address:Madhesh Media House, Hanumansthan Chowk, Anamnagar, Kathmandu Nepal

Phone: 0977-1-4266141

Fax: 0977-1-4266141