No Constitution Day function in Province 2



But neither Chief Minister (CM) Lalbabu Raut nor any other minister of the provincial government showed up at the event which was supposed to be chaired by the chief minister himself even as officials waited there for two hours. At last, the officials planted tree saplings and left the venue.

Also, a provincial cabinet meeting scheduled for Monday was postponed as the central leadership of the two ruling parties – Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) and Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN) – didn’t give clear directions to their party chapters in this connection. On Wednesday morning, three ministers and state ministers of the RJPN had already reached different districts to address protest rallies as asked by the party leadership.

“The provincial government isn’t celebrating the Constitution Day,” Chief Minister Raut told. “I am not attending any function related to the Constitution Day. The civil servants might be celebrating it.” He didn’t explain any reason behind boycotting the function. “I am neither supporting the constitution nor do I protest it. Don’t ask me why I didn’t attend the function.”

The ministers and state ministers from RJPN have not only joined the protests but also addressed the rallies. Ministers Jitendra Sonal, Ram Naresh Raya, and Nawal Kishore Sah led the rallies in Saptari, Siraha, and Dhanusha respectively.

Addressing the rally in Saptari, Minister Sonal claimed that they will continue their protests until some of the provisions of the constitution are amended.

Your response